Until the 1st of May 2014 Environmental Justice Australia was known as The Environment Defenders Office Victoria, an independent, not-for-profit, community legal service, specialising in public interest environmental law.

EDO Victoria was part of a National Network of EDOs in each State and Territory.

We aimed to redress the imbalance in access to legal resources that exists for individuals, community and conservation groups compared to government and business.

Our work included:

  • providing legal advice and legal representation to individuals, community groups and conservation organisations working to protect and enhance the environment.
  • contributing to environmental law reform and policy development by monitoring developments in Victorian and Commonwealth law and, where appropriate, making submissions to Government relating to existing and proposed legislation.
  • developing and promoting community legal education programs to assist communities and individuals to be involved at all levels in environmental decision-making processes.
  • conducting seminars, workshops and conferences.